

## **Neighbors Helping Neighbors**

Customers of Volunteer Energy Cooperative participate in the VECustomers Share program. Customer bills are rounded up to the next highest dollar and the excess amount is placed into the VECustomers Share fund to support projects that benefit communities in the Volunteer Energy Cooperative service area.

Although each average VEC customer contributes about \$6 per year (and never more than \$11.88 annually), thousands of dollars each month are distributed to community groups each month as a result of this generosity. Scout troops, youth sports, senior citizens groups, PTAs, and civic groups are examples of the types of organizations that benefit from VECustomers Share funds.

The VECustomers Share fund is a separate and independent fund of VEC, designated expressly for grant awards. No VECustomers Share funds are used in the operations or maintenance of electric operations and none of the funds are used to pay electric bills.

VECustomers Share grants are reviewed by an independent board, made up of non-paid volunteers from VEC service areas. Neither members of the Volunteer Energy Cooperative Board of Directors nor employees of VEC serve on this board.

The VECustomers Share Board of Directors meet once a month to consider grant funding.

Customer participation in the VECustomers Share rounding up of the bill is voluntary. Any customer may opt out of participation in the program by notifying VEC of their wishes.

## **VECustomers Share Fast Facts**

- About 77% of VEC customers participate in VECustomers Share.
- The limit that any one organization can receive per year is \$10,000.
- The total grant money awarded to date in the program since it began in October 2001 is over \$7.3 million.
- Most grants awarded are under \$1,000.
- Applications are available in each VEC service center, at the corporate office, or on the VEC web site: www.vec.org.
- Between 40 and 80 grant applications are received each month.

## **Current VECustomers Share Board Members**

Chairman, Cumberland County - East: Holly Neal Vice Chairman, McMinn County: Norma Barham Secretary-Treasurer, Hamilton Countyz: Lynn Crawford

Bradley County: Lisa Mantooth Meigs County: Marie Whitted Cumberland County - West: Roger Thackston Fentress, Morgan, and Scott Counties: Kelli Crouch Rhea and Bledsoe Counties: Eddie Galloway Pickett County: Gaylon Rector Polk County: Bill Blackwell Putnam, White, and Overton Counties: Sharon Parrott

Roane County: Rodney Fowler