Electric Co-op Creative Writing Contest Scholarship Winners Announced

Volunteer Energy Cooperative announced the winners of the 2021 Electric Cooperative Creative Writing Competition Scholarship program. Six students from the co-op’s plateau service areas were awarded a $1,000 scholarship to the college or trade school of their choice.


The Winners are: Tyler Hall from Cumberland County High, Serenity Nolan from Monterey, Gracie Hall  from Clarkrange, Keirra Asberry from York Institute, Teagan Sullivan from Stone Memorial, and Haylee Shoffner from Rhea County High. Each student leader submitted a short story with other juniors at their school. The short stories were judged on knowledge of the subject and treatment of the theme, originality and creativity, and grammar and composition.


Each year, Volunteer Energy Cooperative takes high school Juniors to Washington, D.C., as part of the Electric Cooperative Washington Youth Tour to learn about history, government and leadership. Health concerns prevented the 2021 trip, so the co-op presented scholarships to this year’s winners.


“Whether it be through the Youth Tour program or a scholarship, supporting the future of these students and the communities they represents is an investment that will create a brighter future for us all,” says Julie Jones, Communications and PR Coordinator. “We are excited to see them grow their talents and knowledge. The entire team at Volunteer Energy Cooperative is rooting for their success, and we are confident they will each find ways to impact our communities in the future.”


Students entered the contest by writing a creative short story about the various ways Volunteer Energy Cooperative is investing in a brighter future for the communities it serves.